Better Than A Hallelujah:

There are certain songs that resonate with me. Especially, in a crisis I turn to these songs, and for the last year or so I have always worshiped in spite of to “Praise You In This Storm” by Casting Crowns. Then the Lord sent me this song.

Better Than A Hallelujah By Amy Grant

 God loves a lullaby
In a mothers tears in the dead of night
Better than a Hallelujah sometimes.
God loves the drunkards cry,
The soldiers plea not to let him die
Better than a Hallelujah sometimes.

We pour out our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah.

The woman holding on for life,
The dying man giving up the fight
Are better than a Hallelujah sometimes
The tears of shame for what’s been done,
The silence when the words won’t come
Are better than a Hallelujah sometimes.

Better than a church bell ringing,
Better than a choir singing out, singing out.

I cannot help but be moved by this song. When people ask me how I am handling the personal crisis I am going through right now (which I will blog about at a later date) I will direct them to this song. This song perfectly reflects my emotions and the love/hate relationship I am working through with the Lord at this time. Constantly praising him with my tears, and a devoted heart, but cursing the situation I am in.

These are my thoughts this week. This song is the meditation of my heart. My prayer to the Lord and my Hallelujah. I will praise in spite of, I will sing in the midst of pain, and I will deny my flesh daily and rest in Him even if it kills me, even when I feel I can no longer hold on, because there is purpose in this. Hallelujah.

I’ll leave you with my favorite lines,

“Beautiful the mess we are
The honest cries of breaking hearts
Are better than a Hallelujah”

– Kailey


About this entry